Tags

, , , , , , ,

This week has been an easy week – officially a “recovery week” but as I have nothing to recover from I have been doing some low level cycling. This weekend is the big 63 mile ride in Meon Vale and the training is going up a notch thereafter.

The Meon Vale ride is organised by CFC – Cyclists Fighting Cancer It is a group of very dedicated cyclists who raise funds to provide specially adapted bikes to children and teenagers to help in their recovery from cancer and its very debilitating effects. What they do is so heartwarming – do visit their web site for some very moving and inspiring stories. I hope to get more and more involved in riding with this group in the future.

Exercise is very important in preventing cancer and many chronic illnesses as I have covered in previous blogs. If you get time, do visit the blog “Cancer Prevention” dated 4 Feb 2015 and read all about it. Exercise is also important whilst recovering from cancer to improve fitness and maintain wellbeing.

This past week I have been looking at new bikes and may have some news on that front next week. Pedal Power in Loughborough have bean very helpful. I am really sad about letting my current bike Trekkie go as I have had him for many years and I am rather attached to him. I haven’t told Trekkie yet that I am getting a new bike. Today he faithfully took me out to Warren Hill and Dean’s Lane. Good bike!

On Monday, accompanied by Val, I went to BBC Radio Leicester for an interview with Rupal Rajani on her afternoon show. I have never been to a live radio interview in a studio so it was a new experience. I was very impressed by the BBC Studio in St Nicholas Square. So if you have never been there it is worth a visit – right next to The Guildhall and the Cathedral.

Equally impressive was the very slick process of running a radio programme. If you fancy listening in to the interview you can click on this link on iPlayer – it will be available for the next few days – http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02kvx8m#auto
My interview is from the 1 hr 12 minutes mark to 1 hour 30 min and 21 sec.

IMG_0016

This weekend is the re-internment of Richard III in Leicester cathedral and the whole of Leicester is buzzing and awaiting the world’s media to descend on us. When we were in Leicester on Monday it was a gloriously sunny but cold day. The excitement not only in the BBC studio but in the city itself is palpable. I expect the world’s attention will be on Leicester on Sunday.

The fund raising is going on quite well. Here is the link once again to the Virgin Money Giving site: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/team/Hopesitalianjob. I have not had time to take my sponsorship forms to new places but hope to do that soon.

I have signed up on Strava and once I have mastered how to use it I may also be able to bring you weekly statistics of my training. I know it is all very technical but it is one way of keeping a tab on my progress and will motivate me as I get nearer to my goal.