Can’t believe how much interest my meeting with Sir Bradley Wiggins generated – well its all for a good cause! If you missed it please read last week’s blog.

After all the excitement its back to normal or as normal as can be. Last Sunday was the Leicestershire Super Tour – 90 miles of cycling through some of Leicestershire’s most difficult climbs passing stunning countryside and beautiful villages.

The start was from the Sutton Bonnington Agricultural College which is part of Nottingham University. As this is only 6 miles away I decided to cycle to and from the start/finish – hence ended up doing 102 miles – the longest I have ever ridden and with 7000ft of climbing the most I have ever climbed – perfect from my perspective.

The only downside was that not many riders taking on the Geneva to Milan challenge were taking part in this ride. In the end it was just Mark Powell and me. Those of you who have been following my blog will know that Mark has himself has had two cancers and survived. Since then he has taken to cycling and is also doing the Alpine Challenge with me.

Mark is much younger and fitter than me and in the earlier parts of the Leicestershire Super Tour he dragged me up the hills of Charnwood in pouring rain and cold gusty winds. It was a race of two halves. The first part as described above but soon as we hit the eastern part of the course after a well earned food stop in Thurcaston, the rain stopped, the wind dropped and the sun came out. From here onwards it was a very enjoyable ride, especially with about 20 miles to go we bumped into Claire Wilkinson, a fellow Geneva to Milan rider, who happened to be in the area and was happy to ride with us and take two very tiring riders back to the finish in Sutton Bonnington and then me home to Shepshed.

On the brutal Dean's Lane in wet conditions - can't say I am enjoying this one!

On the brutal Dean’s Lane in wet conditions – can’t say I am enjoying this one!

Leicestershire Super Tour - Clair Wilkinson to the rescue!

Leicestershire Super Tour – Claire Wilkinson to the rescue to take me and Mark (not in picture) through the last 20 or so miles.

Following on this long ride I have had a few training sessions on my exercise bike but this evening managed to get out on Alfie to do the usual hilly ride in Charnwood. It was so satisfying to go up the hills feeling comfortable – what cyclists will say touch the “sweet spot”. It looks like all this training and weight loss is paying off. I still have a few final pounds to lose and I am sure that with all the increased training I shall get there.

Coffee stop with a view – this is what to expect in September

It has been wonderful belonging to the group page on Facebook as we have been able to pass on a lot of information and have some banter. Above is one of the many pictures posted by the recce riders who have just returned from the Geneva to Milan route working out all the coffee/tea stops – just to give us a taste of what to expect. I am looking forward to the ride and take lots of pictures myself to post on this blog!

This week and next its going to be a lot of hard training. No big sportives coming up. The next one is the Ride London 100 miles – more of that in later blogs.

Last weekend was also my big sister’s 70th birthday and we had a lovely get together at the Feast of India in Leicester when we met up with the extended family some of whom we haven’t seen for a while!

My fund raising is going on extremely well currently at over £4600. I have had a big donation from children aged 4-10 at Charnwood College Swimmers at their gala event organised by their tutor Rose Bond. It is wonderful to know that people that I have never met are getting involved and raising funds to sponsor my challenge for a very worthy cause.

If you are considering supporting vital cancer research and care in our hospitals here are the various links you can use to sponsor me:

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/team/Hopesitalianjob

http://www.justgiving.com/guru-singh2

text GURU67 with £amount (from £1 to £10) to 70070

Sponsorship forms are at Charnwood Pharmacy, Bloomin’ Marvellous, Dilip’s Multi store, The Black swan, The Crown, Ryatt’s Optometrist, Hall Croft Opticians, Janine Soars hairdresser at “Sheardesire” in Hall Croft, Rosebery Medical Centre, Rosebery Pharmacy, Forest Edge and Outwoods Surgeries, Bridge Street medical Centre and Pedal Power in Loughborough. Don’t forget Livio of Livio’s Italian Restaurant is also collecting a voluntary £1 donation from his diners and promising to match it.

Further information about Hope Against Cancer: http://www.hfcr.org