Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I started writing this blog 10 months ago I had no idea as to how it will be received. I started the blog on the advice of my daughter Hannah who rightly said that to reach as many people as possible with my message I had to embrace social media, including FaceBook.

The other thing she so rightly mentioned was that writing a blog would bring a sense of structure into my preparation and would not only motivate me but if I ever had a change of heart would prevent me from pulling out! Once I was out in the public there was only one way – onwards and upwards.

As to what I have achieved has still not sunk in fully. I am extremely grateful for the support and overwhelmed by the messages people have sent me. I have raised an incredible amount – over £8000 for Hope. I have lost over two stone in weight, found muscles in my legs I had only seen on other cyclists and having dropped two waist sizes, feel more energetic and a new person.

It will be a shame to stop writing the blog as I would like to continue spreading the message of health and weight loss through diet and exercise as well as on cancer, diabetes and heart disease prevention. The intensity of training, fund raising and blogging has been all consuming and I hope that I would reduce the blogging to once a month or less. If you have subscribed to receive my updates you will automatically get a notification via email when I post a blog. If you have not subscribed now is the time to do so. If you want to reblog or copy and paste my messages please feel free to do so. The more people we can reach the better.

Finally I would like to mention that whilst we cyclists were doing our challenge, Val, my wife who is an illustrator has designed a Christmas card to raise funds for Hope Against Cancer. The card is based on the cycling challenge theme. (Any resemblance of Santa to me is purely coincidental!) The cards are on sale for £5.50 for a pack of 10 and orders are beginning to come in. Postage and packing will be £1.00 per pack, £3.50 for packs of five or more. Locally people can collect or if unable we can deliver. Here is an image of the card:

ho! ho! HOPE

ho! ho! HOPE

If you wish to donate here are all the different ways that you can sponsor me and make that big difference – I am keeping these sites going for a while.

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/team/Hopesitalianjob

http://www.justgiving.com/guru-singh2

text GURU67 with £amount (from £1 to £10) to 70070

Until next time – Ciao.

Elation

Elation

Piazza del Duomo, Milan

Piazza del Duomo, Milan