Tags

, , , , , ,

I have not been on WordPress for five years and I owe those who have supported me during my Geneva to Milan and subsequent challenges an apology.

On 4 April, 2017 I wrote about my, then, forthcoming challenge – to climb Mont Ventoux three times in a day to gain entry into the coveted Club des Cinglés de Mont Ventoux or the Club of Nutters to raise funds for our Air Ambulance in the East Midlands. On the eve of the challenge whilst out on a warm up recce I had a simple fall and knew immediately that I had cracked my rib as I hit the handle bar. I got back on my bike and cycled another 10km back to the hotel. By this time my chest pain had got much worse and I knew immediately that my challenge the next day was over.

Unknown to me at the time I had also suffered a head injury which didn’t showed no symptoms until three weeks later whilst visiting family in Boston, USA. It started with weakness in the legs and a faltering gait. Within a week I had gone off my legs and ended up in Massachusetts General Hospital. I was diagnosed with a massive subdural brain haemorrhage and had a bilateral craniotomy to drain it. Following this I had to undergo intensive rehab.

I eventually made a complete recovery thanks to all the people involved – clinicians, family and friends. Unfortunately my return to cycling has been haphazard. Having lost my confidence, most of the cycling I do nowadays is on my trusted exercise bike – the Wattbike Atom.

I can’t remember if in the past I have mentioned my road running. In my younger days I have done some running – mainly half marathons and 10km runs, but also have done two sub four-hour London Marathons. I have always felt that I had another marathon in me. More recently I have been inspired by the centenarian Fauja Singh who has run several marathons in his nineties and well beyond the age of 100. At 73 its probably too far ahead to be thinking of running at 100 but now to attempt even one would be fantastic.

When it came to choosing a charity it had to be Brain Research UK. After what I had been through its an opportunity to put something back into the system to support cutting edge research worldwide.

This time to support me in my endeavours I have been joined by my wife Val. She has run some half marathons and 10km distance in the past, tried to get into the London Marathon on numerous occasions but had been unsuccessful until this year. Val also has an interest in supporting brain research as her mother has dementia, a cruel condition and a worsening incidence in an ageing population.

So here we are, not quite at the Zimmer frame stage – attempting to run the iconic London Marathon.

I will try and do a regular posting to update on the training and touch on various issues like exercise and health, ageing, dealing with injuries etc.

Meanwhile here is a link to our donations page https://tcslondonmarathon.enthuse.com/pf/guru-singh